Should I see Superstar?

Jesus Christ Superstar is a musical I hold very close to my heart. It was the first show I ever saw live on stage, you can read all about that experience here.

I have never seen another production on stage since that fateful night 4 decades ago! (the film I have seen multiple times) and it is a favourite musical of mine. Last time I was New York I went to see a revival of my favourite musical Hair and it was a real treat – a good production. This time it is Superstar  being revived and offers me a chance to hear those great songs live on stage once again.

The latest revival of the legendary rock opera with music by Andrew Lloyd Webber and lyrics by Tim Rice comes from a sold out production at the Stratford Shakespeare Festival in Ontario, Canada, followed by a follow-up run at the LaJolla Playhouse in San Diego, California, directed by Des McAnuff the man responsible for the mega hit Broadway production of Jersey Boys – still playing at the August Wilson theatre across the road from the Neil Simon theatre where Superstar will preach. I must admit that judging from the stills of the staging that I have seen I expect it has a similar amount of showbiz pizzaz that made Jersey Boys an enjoyable experience.

Andrew Lloyd Webber was planning his own revival but got wind of the Stratford production, went to see it, and decided it was good enough for Broadway. Here is my chance to decide for myself, do you think i should?

 

3 Comments

Filed under musical, New York, Theatre, travel

3 responses to “Should I see Superstar?

  1. Miguel de Nueva York

    Skip it, Babs. It’s dreadful! Though Judas is a yummy bit of alright.

  2. ange

    sounds amazing!! you have to see it x ange

Leave a Reply

