I’ll eat my words Woody!

Well, well, well – will I have to eat my words and go see a film starring Owen Wilson in a leading role?

The answer is yes!  Why?

Blame the Woodster – Woody Allen.

In a previous post I let it be known I am not a fan of  Owen Wilson at all. But, I am a big fan of Woody Allen (mostly of old, not new)

The new exceptions being “Vicki Christine Barcelona” which I liked due to Penelope Cruz & Javier (hubba, hubba) Bardem, and I have an hilarious soft spot for the little seen flop Hollywood Ending (Woody as a blind film director- ha!) which made me laugh out loud on occasion!

The newest Woody Allen film is “Midnight In Paris” and it is a box office hit in the States ($16.5 million to date) expanding this weekend to 1038 screens the biggest ever release for a Woody-flick. It premiered at the 2011 Cannes film festival to excellent reviews.

From all accounts it seems that MIP harks back to the Woody of old, a fantastical film in the vein of “The Purple Rose Of Cairo”, and with the comic charm of the brilliant “Bullets Over Broadway”. Of course it has an all-star cast to relish in, and a stunning picture postcard location – Paris, how can one resist?

Owen Wilson (in the substitute Allen role) is on vacation in Paris with his future bride – Rachel McAdams. A dissatisfied but successful screenwriter who is writing his first novel, he is constantly demeaned by his fiancé and her family and friends also holidaying with him. One night whilst walking the streets of Paris he is picked up by a car full of party-goers, he is transported back to the romantic 1920’s and finds himself amongst his literary idols who advise him on his novel and life. Sounds like fun to me.

Also in the starry cast are Oscar winners Kathy Bates, Marion Cotillard, & Adrien Brody. France’s first lady Carla Bruni makes a cameo as a tour guide.

Woody Allen always pleases with his films from a design/location point of view, and it’s always a pleasure to watch his cast enjoy themselves with his dialogue.

I would expect with the reception of the film so far that Woody will receive yet another Oscar nomination for screenplay, perhaps it may do well in other categories as well.

So break out the champagne and munch on your baguette because it looks like for all the Woody fans out there, we are all in for a fabulous Parisian treat – ooh la la!

Marion Cotillard & Owen Wilson mooching in Paris

“Midnight In Paris” is due for release in Australia later in the year.

 

 

6 Comments

Filed under movies, travel

6 responses to “I’ll eat my words Woody!

  1. Wanda

    Definitely on my list…. sounds like a lot of fun.

  2. I also loved Vicky Christina Barcelona and just saw Midnight in Paris a few days ago… It’s phenomenal! I love Marion Cotillard! Go see it- You won’t be disappointed!

  3. thank god you are back Babs- Babs is back and ON FIRE

  4. Pingback: Judy bops with Woody! | BABS BLABS – In My Own Opinion

Leave a Reply

