it takes three

Harping on again about the Oscar best supporting actress race.

I promise I will stop till the SAG awards and of course the Oscar nominations – i do tend to break promises from time to time.

As you may well know, I am the head of the I HEART JACKI campaign.

So now that the Golden Globuls have been announced I will give my prediction for the actual potential front runners for the Oscars. At the moment it is a 3 horse race.

JACKI – no brainer

MELISSA LEO – an indie fave, and previous nominee for her brilliant performance in “Frozen River”, it appears that she is showing a real range and a totally different performance as the over bearing mom of Mark Wahlberg & Christian Bale  in “The Fighter” – sight unseen by Babs but I can sniff out a possible steal from la Jacki.

HELENA BONHAM CARTER – the possible veteran award? she is a wonderful actress, after shedding her period perfect heroine roles with Fight Club and hooking up with Tim Burton she has become a great character actress, this category does reward her type from time to time. (and she is playing the Queen Mother after all) BTW I adored her very clever over-the-top performance as the Red Queen in “Alice In Wonderland”, but these kind of performances very rarely get noticed. The last time was Al Pacino for “Dick Tracy”.

Any other contender in this category can enjoy the award circuit, make great mates with the other nominees, and get lots of booty from the award prize packs. Any form of attention in the award season can boost a career, so be grateful gals.

By the way, I have only seen Jacki’s performance, so at the moment it is heresay as far as in my own opinion. And I do love the other 2 on my list, but I really adore Jacki – always have.

such a DILEMMA.

It must be a great thrill for director of Animal Kingdom – David Michod to realize he has the possibility of saying he directed the performance of an Oscar nominee…..I know I would be proud. Expect actors agents to be knocking on your door 🙂

No more AK accolades for a while – do not want to over expose.

x

1 Comment

Filed under Awards, movies

One response to “it takes three

  1. Ange

    I love Helena Bonham Carter!! x

Leave a Reply

