first season Oscar harvest

In it’s second year of presenting honorary awards at a separate ceremony the Academy Of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences’ Governors awards were handed out on Saturday night (US).

Held separately to keep the running time of the main ceremony down and to allow recipients more time to speak, it has been hailed as a relaxed affair far from probing television cameras and full of the industries major players.

This years recipients:

Honorary Oscars

actor Eli Wallach.

film historian and preservationist Kevin Brownlow.

iconic French director Jean-Luc Godard (who turned down an invitation to attend).

Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award

producer,director  Francis Ford Coppola.

Eli Wallach, Francis Ford Coppola & Kevin Brownlow       ©AMPAS


Leave a comment

Filed under Awards, movies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s